The United Nations Development Assistance Framework (UNDAF)

The United Nations Development Assistance Framework (UNDAF) is the agreement which pegs UN assistance to priorities defined by the Government of Sri Lanka. In October 2012, the UN and the Government of Sri Lanka signed the UNDAF for the period of 2013-2017. The UNDAF was designed under the overall goal of supporting the Government achieve sustainable and inclusive economic growth with equitable access to quality social services, strengthened human capabilities and reconciliation for lasting peace. The four pillars outlined in the UNDAF are:

  • Equitable Economic Growth and Sustainable Livelihoods.
  • Disparity Reduction, Equitable and Quality Social Services.
  • Governance, Human Rights, Gender Equality, Social Inclusion and Protection.
  • Environmental Sustainability, Climate Change and Disaster Risk Reduction

UNDAF Addendum (2016)
The UNDAF (2013-2017) was developed in line with the national priorities outlined in the Mahinda Chintana, the Millennium Declaration and the framework of the Millennium Development Goals. In 2016, a Mid-Term Review of the UNDAF was carried out, which highlighted that the context in which the UN agencies operate and implement programmes in Sri Lanka has significantly changed since the formulation of the current UNDAF in 2013. The changes in the local political context due to the election of a new President and a Parliament in January 2015, and at the global level, the adoption of the post-2015 development agenda – the Sustainable Development Goals – have resulted in major shifts in Sri Lanka’s development priorities. As part of the UNDAF Mid-Term Review, an UNDAF Addendum was released in May 2016.

Download: UNDAF Addendum (2016)

UNDAF Can be downloaded from here